LaMoure County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota
LaMoure County

Guide to LaMoure County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: LaMoure
Organized: January 4, 1873
Parent County(s): Pembina [1]
Neighboring Counties
Barnes  • Dickey  • Logan  • McIntosh  • Ransom  • Stutsman
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaLaMoureCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota LaMoure Map.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The county was organized on October 17, 1881. Its name was derived from Judson LaMoure of Pembina who served the first of many terms in the Dakota and North Dakota legislature. County Seat: LaMoure.[2]

County Courthouse

LaMoure County Courthouse
202 4th Ave North East
PO Box 128
La Moure, ND 58458
Phone: 701.883.5301
LaMoure County Website

La Moure County North Dakota Courthouse.jpg


Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, death, burial, divorce, probate and court records from 1881;

Register of Deeds has land records[3]

LaMoure County, North Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1903 1887 1903 1873 1873 1873 1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

4 January 1873 La Moure County was created from Pembina County.
County seat: La Moure [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Adrian
  • Badger
  • Black Loam
  • Bluebird
  • Dean
  • Gladstone
  • Glen
  • Glenmore
  • Golden Glen
  • Grand Rapids
  • Grandview
  • Greenville
  • Henrietta
  • Kennison
  • Litchville
  • Mikkelson
  • Nora
  • Norden
  • Ovid
  • Pearl Lake
  • Pomona View
  • Prairie
  • Raney
  • Ray
  • Roscoe
  • Russell
  • Ryan
  • Saratoga
  • Sheridan
  • Swede
  • Wano
  • Willowbank
Ghost towns


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 20
1890 3,187 15835.0%
1900 6,048 89.8%
1910 10,724 77.3%
1920 11,564 7.8%
1930 11,517 −0.4%
1940 10,298 −10.6%
1950 9,498 −7.8%
1960 8,705 −8.3%
1970 7,117 −18.2%
1980 6,473 −9.0%
1990 5,383 −16.8%
2000 4,701 −12.7%
2010 4,139 −12.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Lutheran

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.


Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for LaMoure County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.


Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see North Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. LaMoure County Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), LaMoure County, North Dakota. Page 524 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "LaMoure County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.