La Crosse County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from La Crosse County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
La Crosse County

Guide to La Crosse County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


La Crosse County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 1, 1851
County Seat La Crosse
Courthouse
Address La Crosse County Courthouse
400 4th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601-3200
Phone. 608.785.9577


WI La Crosse.png

County Information

La Crosse County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1866 1851 1860 1851 1851

County Courthouse

La Crosse County Courthouse
400 4th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601-3200
Phone. 608.785.9577

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1851;
Clerk of Courts has divorce and court records;
Register in Probate has probate records from 1851 [1]


Historical Facts

La Crosse County, Wisconsin is on the border with Minnesota, and the larger town of La Crosse is just across from Winona, Minnesota.

The La Crosse Public Library has La Crosse county history and geography resources online at Lacrosse Library Genealogy. Lacrosse Library History

Parent County

1851--La Crosse County was created 1 March 1851from Crawford County. County seat: La Crosse [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

WI LA CROSSE.JPG

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Houston County, Minnesota  • Jackson  • Monroe  • Trempealeau  • Vernon  • Winona County, Minnesota

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Interment
WVGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church History and Records

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Holmen, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

The La Crosse Public Library has online versions of several historic La Crosse city and county directories. Directories available for 1866, 1870, 1876, 1880, 1885, 1890, 1895, 1900, 1905.

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from La Crosse County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of La Crosse County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies B, D, H, and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company A
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company C
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

The La Crosse Public Library has an obituary index online at La Crosse Obituaries. Requests for photocopies of the obituaries can be ordered by mail from the library for a small fee.

La Crosse Obituaries 1998 and 1999 USGenWeb Archives

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Center
Family History Library Holdings
LaCrosse Wisconsin
701 Well St
Onalaska, La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Phone: 608-783-3619
Website

Hours: T-Th, Sat 9am-12pm; W-Th 6pm-9pm


Societies

Holmen Area Historical Society
PO Box 535
Holmen, WI 54636
Facebook

La Crosse County Historical Society
429 7th Street N
La Crosse 54601-3301
Facebook

La Crosse Heritage Association
600 3rd Street N
La Crosse 54601-6299
Website

La Crosse Area Genealogical Society
PO Box 1782
La Crosse, WI 54602
Website

La Crosse County Historical Society
PO Box 1272
La Crosse, WI 54602-1272
Telephone: 608-782-1980

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Lafayette County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).