Laceby, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Laceby, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Laceby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Laceby, Lincolnshire
Laceby St Margaret Lincolnshire.jpg
Laceby St Margaret Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley Haverstoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grimsby
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

LACEBY (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Caistor, wapentake of Bradley-Haverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (W. S. W.) from Grimsby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Laceby, Lincolnshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

LINCS = LINCS to the Past - free[2]
Laceby, Lincolnshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
LINCS 1538-1884 1538-1837 1538-1977

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Use advanced search terms 'Laceby Par 1' at Search Lincs to the past to search for available parish register images and miscellaneous sources.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Laceby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438766.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Laceby/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 1-6 Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. LINCS to the Past, accessed 28 January 2015.