Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Lafayette County

Guide to Lafayette County Mississippi ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Lafayette County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Lafayette County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 9 February, 1836
County Seat Oxford
Courthouse
MississippiLaFayetteCourthouse.jpg
Address Lafayette County Courthouse
Town Sq; PO Box 1240;
Oxford, MS 38655
Phone: 662.234.2131
Lafayette County Courthouse



County Information

Lafayette County, Mississippi Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1850

1840
1836
1836

County Courthouse

Lafayette County Courthouse
Town Sq; PO Box 1240;
Oxford, MS 38655
Phone: 662.234.2131

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records. [1]

History

Parent County

1836--Lafayette County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
County seat: Oxford [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War


  • Civil War service men from Lafayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lafayette County. 
- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Miller's)
Company A - Mississippi Rifles
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company B - Thompson Cavalry
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Polk Rangers
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company G - Dave Rogers Rifles
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans [Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s]
Company G - Martin’s Company
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Logan’s Company
Company D - Gwartney’s Company
Company H - Kilgore Rangers
Company I - Webb’s Rangers
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company K - Bowles’ Company, aka McEwen’s Company
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company D - Paris Rebels
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company C - Lafayette Guards
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company A - University Greys
Company G - Lamar Rifles

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lafayette County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records


Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Lafayette County Historical and Genealogical Society
Lafayette County and Oxford Public Library
Oxford, Mississippi
P. O. Box 1382, Oxford, MS 38655
Lafayette County Historical and Genealogical Society

Skipwith Historical & Genealogical Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 1382
Oxford, MS 38655
website

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lafayette County, Mississippi page 380, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/be/Igimississippij.pdf.