Laithkirk, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Laithkirk, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Teesdale|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1846|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Laithkirk is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from Romaldkirk, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.
LAITH-KIRK, a district chapelry, in the township of Lune-Dale, parish of Romald-Kirk, union of Teesdale, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of the county of York, 9 miles (N. W.) from Barnard-Castle.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of LAITHKIRK exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|LAITHKIRK CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Laithkirk and comprising the whole ancient parish of Romaldkirk to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROMALDKIRK page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464230.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 1-6. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.