Lake County, California Genealogy
Guide to Lake County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Lake County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||May 20, 1861|
|Address|| Lake County Courthouse|
255 N Forbes St;
Lakeport, CA 95453
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Birth
- 5.27 Marriage
- 5.28 Divorce
- 5.29 Death
- 5.30 Voting Registers
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Lake County, California Record Dates
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1867,
mining and miscellaneous records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce,
probate and court records 
The county was named from Clear Lake, the dominant geographic feature in the county and the largest natural lake wholly within California. The County Seat is Lakeport and was founded May 20, 1861. It is located in the northwest area of the state.
"Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1867 Courthouse burned down and all earlier records were destroyed.
The following web site may have additional information on Lake County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Lake County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
- 1860 - Census, Napa County, California, Clear Lake Township (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1870 - Index of Lake County Census Records by Location (USGenWeb Archives)
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
- 1867 - Pacific Coast Business Directory for Lake County (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1878 - 1879 - McKenney's District Directory - Lake County Portion (CAGenWeb Project)
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Lake County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
- Lake County, in Memorial And Biographical History Of Northern California (USGenWeb Archives)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Index to Federal Land Patents, Lake County (USGenWeb Archives)
Military History and Records
- Lake County Civil War Veterans and Cemeteries (CAGenWeb Project)
- Lake County List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
World War I
- Lake County WWI Draft Registrations (CAGenWeb Project)
World War II
- Lake County Index of World War II Army Enlistment Records (Genealogy Trails)
- World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel, Lake County, California (Genealogy Trails)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lake County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Lake County Obituaries and Death Notices (CAGenWeb Project)
- Lake County Obituary Index (Genealogy Trails)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Lake - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
- Lake County Probate Index (CAGenWeb Project)
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Highlands California Family History Center
- Lakeport California Family History Center
Lake County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1323
Lake County Historical Society
P.O. Box 1011
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
- 1872-73 - Lake County Delinquent Taxes - Fiscal Year 1872-73 (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1874-75 - Lake County Delinquent Taxes - Fiscal Year 1874-75 (CAGenWeb Project)
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder.
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1875 - 1899 - Lake County Birth Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1910 - Lake County Birth Index by Year (Genealogy Trails)
- To 1910 - Lake County Births from County Birth Indexes and Newspapers (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Lake County Marriage Notices (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
- Lake County CAGenWeb
- Lake County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Lake County, California Genealogy Trails
- Lake County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lake County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lake County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_County,_California 5/03/2017.