Lanarkshire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lanarkshire, Scotland)
Jump to: navigation, search

Scotland'Gotoarrow.png Lanarkshire, Scotland Genealogy

Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources



Scotland-lanarkshire.png




Introduction

Guide to Lanarkshire, Scotland Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Lanarkshire is an extensive inland county in the south of Scotland, bounded on the north by the counties of Dumbarton and Stirling, on the east by the counties of Linlithgow, Edinburgh and Peebles, on the south by Dumfriesshire, and on the west by the counties of Renfrew, Ayr and Dumfries.  It is about 52 miles in length and 33 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 926 square miles or 592,640 acres.

The county, also called Clydesdale (or Strathclyde), from the valley of the river Clyde, was--after the departure of the Romans--part of an extensive independent kingdom which consisted of nearly all of Scotland south of the river Forth.  The inhabitants were ancient British tribes who lost their independence after their metropolis of Dumbarton was taken by the combined forces of the Picts and Saxons in the eighth century.  After the subjugation of the Picts by Kenneth II in about the year 971, the whole area came under the authority of the Scottish kings.

Lanarkshire consists of 50 parishes and, for civil purposes, is divided into the Upper, Middle and Lower wards, each under a sub-sheriff based at Lanark, Hamilton, and Glasgow.  The county includes the royal burghs of Glasgow, Rutherglen, and Lanark, and eight towns and numerous villages.  

The population of the county in 1851 was 426,972.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  Family History Library book 941 E5L

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.

Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Lanarkshire for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

Church Records

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960


Parishes

Some of the Lanarkshire parish records are indexed in *Lanark, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.

This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Lanark in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.

Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Lanark with their parish numbers. Click on a parish name to see information about records.

Parish No. Parish No.
Avondale 621 Glassford 645
Barony 622 Gorbals 644-2
Biggar 623 Govan 646
Blantyre 624 Hamilton 647
Bothwell 625 Lamington -- see Wandell 659
Cadder 626 Lanark 648
Cambuslang 627 Leadhills -- see Crawford 635
Cambusnethan 628 Lesmahagow 649
Carluke 629 Libberton 650
Carmichael 630 New Monkland (including Airdrie) 651
Carmunnock 631 Old Monkland (including Coatbridge) 652
Carnwath 632 Pettinain 653
Carstairs 633 Roberton -- see Wiston 660
Covington & Thankerton 634 Rutherglen 654
Crawford (including Leadhills) 635 Shotts 655
Crawfordjohn 636 Stonehouse 656
Culter 637 Strathbungo -- see Govan 646
Dalserf 638 Symington 657
Dalziel 639 Thankerton -- see Covington 634
Dolphington 640 Walston 658
Douglas 641 Wandell & Lamington 659
Dunsyre 642 Wiston & Roberton 660
East Kilbride 643
Glasgow 644-1


Maps

Poorhouse Records

Lanarkshire

There are ten poorhouses in Lanarkshire:

Societies

Glasgow & West of Scotland Family History Society
Unit 13, 32 Mansfield Street
Glasgow
G11 5QP
Scotland
Tel. +44 (0) 141 339 8303

Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
Edinburgh
EH1 2JL
Scotland
Phone-0131 220 3677
Email enquiries@scotsgenealogy.com

Lanarkshire Family History Society
High Road
MOTHERWELL
North Lanarkshire
Scotland
ML1 3HU
Scotland
e-mail: members-lanarkshirefhs@hotmail.co.uk

Websites

Return to county list.