Lancing, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Lancing, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||East Preston|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
LANCING, a parish, in the hundred of Brightford, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 2 miles (W.) from Shoreham. Lancing St James the Less is an Ancient Parish in Adur district of West Sussex .
see a history of the church and subsequent Development of Lancing St Michael from 1923 Lancing St James and St Michael
The Parish Church of St James has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Lancing Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Lancing, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Lancing, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Lancing St James
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1574-1970 Marr 1560-1989 Bur 1560-1953
Bishop's Transcripts 1591-1918
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lancing
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 17-20. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.