Landford, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Landford, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Landford

Guide to Landford, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Landford, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Frustfield
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

LANDFORD (St. Andrew), a village and a parish in Alderbury districtrict in the county Wiltshire. It located in the hundred of Frustfield, Salisbury and Amesbury, 7 miles (E. by S.)from Downton.[1][2][3]The village stands on a branch of the river, Test, 2¼ miles from the boundary with Hants. Dean railway station is 6 miles from landford and 10 miles from Salisbury.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Landford, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
Landford, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1671-1790
1671-1753

IGI 1789-1876 1757-1837
NBI

1586-1837
NIM 1585-1837
1599-1837
1585-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464196.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 17-20. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. From: 'Lancaut - Lanercost-Abbey', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 17-20. British HistoryDate accessed: 30 September 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.