Langham, Rutland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Langham, Rutland)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.pngRutland Parishes

Guide to Langham, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Langham, Rutland
St+Peter+Paul Langham Rutland.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oakham-Soke
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Oakham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office


Parish History

LANGHAM (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and soke of Oakham, county of Rutland, 2 miles (N. W.) from Oakham. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

The Victoria County History of Langham (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Langham, Rutland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Langham, Rutland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1856 1813-1856 1813-1856 1813-1856
IGI 1707-1812 1707-1812

Deposited parish registers are found at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office. Deposited bishop's transcripts are held at the Northamptonshire Record Office.

Diocese of Peterborough : Langham Bap 1559 - 1974 Marr 1559 - 1978 Bur 1559 - 1881

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.


Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.