Langley, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Langley, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Langley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Langley, Essex
Langley St John Upper Green. Essex.jpg
Langley St John Upper Green. Essex
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clavering
County Essex
Poor Law Union Saffron Walden
Registration District Saffron Walden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678; For more records see Clavering
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Langley, is a parish in Saffron Walden district, Essex; adjacent to Hertfordshire, 5 1/2 miles WN of Newport railway station; the parish is sometimes regarded as a chapelry. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Langley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Langley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSPRs Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Particular Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241366.

Poor Law Unions

Saffron Walden Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Langley on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 28 January 2015.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.