Langley, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Langley, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Langley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Langley, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brimstree
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

LANGLEY, a township and ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Hales-Owen, union of Bromsgrove, Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, HalesOwen and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Birmingham. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

LANGLEY, a hamlet and a parochial chapelry in Halesowen parish, Worcester. The hamlet lies contiguous to Oldbury, near Oldbury r. station, and near the boundary with Staffordshire, 3 miles ESE of Dudley. The chapelry contains also the village of Rounds-Green; and was constituted in 1845. Post-town, Oldbury, under Birmingham. Another church, of a temporary kind, was opened in 1853 at Rounds-Green. There are chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and New Connexion Methodists.[2]

Additional information:

Langley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Worcestershire, created in 1846 from Halesowen, Worcestershire Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Rounds Green.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474583.


Poor Law Unions

Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), Date accessed and adapted: 11 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 11 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.