Langley Marish, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Langley Marish, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Langley Marish, Buckinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Eton|
|Parish registers: 1645; For more records see Wyrardisbury; Separate registers exist for Colnbrook beginning 1760|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Colnbrook beginning 1633|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
LANGLEY-MARISH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Eton, hundred of Stoke, county of Buckingham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241220.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Langley Marish on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-25. Date accessed and adapted 18 June 2013.