Lanier County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lanier County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Lanier County

Guide to Lanier County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Lanier County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Lanier County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded August 7, 1920
County Seat Lakeland
Address Lanier County Courthouse
100 W Main Street
Lakeland, GA 31635
Phone: 912.482.2088
Lanier County Website

County Information

Lanier County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Lanier County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

County Courthouse

Lanier County Courthouse
100 W Main Street
Lakeland, GA 31635
Phone: 912.482.2088

Clerk Superior Court records from 1921 and land records; Probate court has birth, marriage, death, and probate records from 1921.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
56 W. Main St., Ste 5
Phone: (229) 482-3594
Fax: (229) 482-8333

Probate Court of Lanier County
Lanier County Courthouse
56 Main Street, Suite 10
Lakeland, GA 31635
Phone: (229) 482-3668


Parent County

1930--Lanier County was created 7 August 1920 from Berrien, Clinch and Lowndes Counties.
County seat: Lakeland [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Atkinson County  • Berrien County  • Clinch County  • Echols County  • Lowndes County  •

Lanier CountyLowndes CountyEchols CountyClinch CountyWare CountyAtkinson CountyCoffee CountyBerrien CountyWorth CountyTift CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyBrooks CountyGALanier.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lanier County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Online Records



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lanier County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Lanier County Historical Society, Inc.
49 W Main St,
Lakeland, GA 31635-6834

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lanier County, Georgia. Page 157 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38. At various libraries (WorldCat).