Latchingdon with Snoreham, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Latchingdon with Snoreham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Latchingdon with Snoreham, Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dengie
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1725
Bishop's Transcripts: 1779
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dengie
Diocese Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Latchingdon with Snoreham is found under Latchingdon and Snoreham, they are described by Samuel A. Lewis in this way.

LATCHINGDON (St. Michael), is a parish, in the union of Maldon, the hundred of Dengie, and S. division of Essex, it is 5¼ miles (S. by E.) from Maldon. It is bounded on the north by Latchingdon Creek and the river Blackwater, and on the south by the navigable river Crouch.[1]

SNOREHAM (St. Peter), is a parish, in the union of Maldon, the hundred of Dengie, and S. division of Essex, it is 5 miles (S. S. E.) from Maldon. Not a vestige remains of the church; the inhabitants attend that of Latchingdon, with which place the parish is rated for the poor.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Latchingdon with Snoreham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
Latchingdon with Snoreham, Essex Genealogy Parish Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1725-1943
1725-1938
1725-1901
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241366.


Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Latchingdon and Latchingdon with Snoreham on GENUKI


Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: date accessed: 24 May 2013
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: date accessed 24 May 2013
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 28 January 2015.