Latvia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Latvia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Latvia

Latvia Wiki Topics
Flag of Latvia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Latvia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Guide to Latvia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records,and military records.

Country Information

Latvia is a country in Europe bordered by Estonia, Lithuania, Russia, and Belarus. It was formerly ruled by Russia and the Soviet Union. The official language is Latvian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Latvia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Latvia research.

Latvia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Latvia research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Latvia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Latvia. Latvia municipalities.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Latvia.

Republican Cities

  • Daugavpils
  • Jēkabpils
  • Jelgava
  • Jūrmala
  • Liepāja
  • Rēzekne
  • Riga
  • Valmiera
  • Ventspils

Municipalities

  • Aglona
  • Aizkraukle
  • Aizpute
  • Aknīste
  • Aloja
  • Alsunga
  • Alūksne
  • Amata
  • Ape
  • Auce
  • Ādaži
  • Babīte
  • Baldone
  • Baltinava
  • Balvi
  • Bauska
  • Beverīna
  • Brocēni
  • Burtnieki
  • Carnikava
  • Cēsis
  • Cesvaine
  • Cibla
  • Dagda
  • Daugavpils
  • Dobele
  • Dundaga
  • Durbe
  • Engure
  • Ērgļi
  • Garkalne
  • Grobiņa
  • Gulbene
  • Iecava
  • Ikšķile
  • Inčukalns
  • Ilūkste
  • Jaunjelgava
  • Jaunpiebalga
  • Jaunpils
  • Jēkabpils
  • Jelgava
  • Kandava
  • Kārsava
  • Kocēni
  • Koknese
  • Krāslava
  • Krimulda
  • Krustpils
  • Kuldīga
  • Ķegums
  • Ķekava
  • Lielvārde
  • Līgatne
  • Limbaži
  • Līvāni
  • Lubāna
  • Ludza
  • Madona
  • Mālpils
  • Mārupe
  • Mazsalaca
  • Mērsrags
  • Naukšēni
  • Nereta
  • Nīca
  • Ogre
  • Olaine
  • Ozolnieki
  • Pārgauja
  • Pāvilosta
  • Pļaviņas
  • Preiļi
  • Priekule
  • Priekuļi
  • Rauna
  • Rēzekne
  • Riebiņi
  • Roja
  • Ropaži
  • Rucava
  • Rugāji
  • Rundāle
  • Rūjiena
  • Salacgrīva
  • Sala
  • Salaspils
  • Saldus
  • Saulkrasti
  • Sēja
  • Sigulda
  • Skrīveri
  • Skrunda
  • Smiltene
  • Stopiņi
  • Strenči
  • Talsi
  • Tērvete
  • Tukums
  • Vaiņode
  • Valka
  • Varakļāni
  • Vārkava
  • Vecpiebalga
  • Vecumnieki
  • Ventspils
  • Viesīte
  • Viļaka
  • Viļāni
  • Zilupe

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Latvia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Latvia, accessed 27 April 2016.