Laufen parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Laufen parish

Guide to Laufen parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Laufen includes the civil parishes of Dachsen and Flurlingen.

History

Place Names

Locations within Laufen

Dachsen

Buchbrunnen
Dachsen
Gut

Meisterhof
Nöhl

Riethof
Steig

Flurlingen

Flurlingen

Schlatter

Laufen

Brand
Eichhof
Elsis
Grüt
Laufen

Mörlen
Nohl
Nohlbuck
Ramsauer
Rebhof

Rütihof
Steig
Steinenberg
Uhwiesen

Surrounding Parishes

Benken
Feuerthalen
Jestetten (Baden, Germany)
Neuhausen am Rheinfall (Schaffhausen)
Rheinau
Schaffhausen (Schaffhausen)
Schlatt (Thurgau)
Trüllikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Laufen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 2 167
1637 1185141 2 833
1640 1185143 2 185
1643 1185146 1 571
1657 1185179 1 39
1671 1185153 1 1079
1678 1185157 1 243
1682 1185160 2 25
1689 1185162 1 227
1694 1185166 2 223
1710 1185169 2 665

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Laufen families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Laufen prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland