Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lawrence County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Lawrence County

Guide to Lawrence County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records

Lawrence County, Arkansas
Map of Arkansas highlighting Lawrence County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Founded January 15, 1815
Parent County New Madrid County, Missouri
County Seat Walnut Ridge
Address Lawrence County Courthouse
PO Box 553, 315 W Main;
Walnut Ridge, AR 72476
Phone: 870.886.1111

County Courthouse

Lawrence County Courthouse
PO Box 553, 315 W Main;
Walnut Ridge, AR 72476
Phone: 870.886.1111

County Clerk has marriage and probate records.[1]

Beginning years for Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1821 1914* 1816 1815 1817
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records


Parent County

County seat: Walnut Ridge [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Craighead  • Greene  • Independence  • Jackson  • Randolph  • Sharp

Lawrence CountyClay CountyGreene CountyCraighead CountyPoinsett CountyJackson CountyIndependence CountySharp CountyRandolph CountyCrittenden CountyCross CountyWoodruff CountyWhite CountyCleburne CountyStone CountyIzard CountyFulton CountyARLawrence.JPG

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Lawrence County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • Arkansas became United States territory with the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1800s (early) - White settlers first inhabited the county’s western regions
  • 1815 January 15 - Lawrence County was created. The “Mother of Counties,” Lawrence County once covered a majority of north Arkansas, an enormous stretch of land ultimately forming thirty-one counties.
  • 1816 - The earliest important settlement was at Davidsonville along the Black River. Named for territorial legislator John Davidson, the town served as the first county seat. Yellow fever ended the settlement.
  • 1861-1865 - During the Civil War, Lawrence County escaped damage.
  • 1800s (mid) - Powhatan experienced explosive growth and soon sported mills, shops, and hotels. Because of this growth, it became the county seat in 1869.
  • 1940-2010 - Lawrence County population hit its high mark in 1940 (22,600) and has a slow decline to a prsent (2010) low mark of 17,400.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Online Lawrence County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Lawrence County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists


1820 is missing

Church Records



Land and Property

Lawrence County Federal Land Records USGenWeb Archives

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.



Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Lawrence County on page 191.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[5], Company E
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[6]
- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies Cand G
- 38th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 45th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)[7],
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[8], Companies C and E

Online Records



Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records


Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) Free family history resources and government records

Social networking sites pertaining to Lawrence County, Arkansas Genealogy Lawrence County, AR Genealogy Forum Lawrence County Message Board

Walnut Ridge, Arkansas

City of Walnut Ridge


  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. John G. Jacobsen, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, ( accessed January 14, 2016), “Lawrence County.”
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  6. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, Forty-fifth Arkansas Confederate Calvary, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2af
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  9. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at