Layer de la Haye, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Layer de la Haye, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex England Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Layer de la Haye, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Layer de la Haye, Essex
St. John the Baptist church, Layer de la Haye, Essex .jpg
St. John the Baptist church, Layer de la Haye, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winstree
County Essex
Poor Law Union Lexden and Winstree
Registration District Lexden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1715
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Mersea
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Layer-De-La-Hay, is a village and a parish in Lexden district, Essex. The village stands 1 mile S of the river Roman, and 5 miles SSW of Colchester railway station; and has a post office under Colchester.—The parish contains also the hamlet of Layer-Cross. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Layer de la Haye, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Layer de la Haye, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1767-1945 1755-1957 1767-1942
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.


Poor Law Unions

Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Layer de la Haye on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 28 January 2015.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.