Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from LeFlore County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Le Flore County

Le Flore County, Oklahoma
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Le Flore County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Poteau
Address Le Flore County Courthouse
100 S. Broadway Street
Poteau, Oklahoma 74953-0607
Phone: 918.647-5738

Le Flore County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


County Information

Le Flore County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1897 1907 1908 1908

County Courthouse

Le Flore County Courthouse
100 S Broadway Street
Poteau, OK 74953-0607
Phone: 918.647-5738

Clerk Court has marriage records from 1898, divorce, probate and court records from 1907;
County Clerk has land records[1]


Parent County

1907--Le Flore County was created 16 July 1907 from Choctaw Lands.
County seat: Poteau [2]


LeFlore County is in the extreme eastern part of the state. It is a large county. Poteau is the county seat and also the largest town. [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places[4]

  • Heavener
  • Poteau (county seat)
  • Spiro
  • Arkoma
  • Bokoshe
  • Cameron
  • Cowlington
  • Fanshawe (partly in Latimer County)
  • Fort Coffee
  • Howe
  • Le Flore
  • Panama
  • Pocola
  • Rock Island
  • Shady Point
  • Spiro
  • Talihina
  • Wister
Unincorporated communities
  • Big Cedar
  • Hodgen
  • Monroe
  • Muse
  • Skullyville
  • Whitesboro

Neighboring Counties


American Indians


Land and Property


Royal Oak Cemetery (Poker Bend)

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.


Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 29,127
1920 42,765 46.8%
1930 42,896 0.3%
1940 45,866 6.9%
1950 35,276 −23.1%
1960 29,106 −17.5%
1970 32,137 10.4%
1980 40,698 26.6%
1990 43,270 6.3%
2000 48,109 11.2%
2010 50,384 4.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census. For tips on accessing Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.


Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Royal Oak Free Will Baptist Church



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.




Revolutionary War
Civil War


Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Le Flore County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Online Records

School Records


Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records


Online Birth Records Indexes and Images


Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images


Online Death Records Indexes and Images


Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Poteau Valley Genealogy Society
PO Box 1031
Poteau, OK 74953

Le Flore County Historical Society
303 Dewey Avenue
Poteau, Okalhoma 74953
Telephone: 918-647-9330
Facebook Page

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Le Flore County, Oklahoma. Page 560 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/leflore/
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Le Flore County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Le_Flore_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.