Lea County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lea County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Lea County

Guide to Lea County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Lea County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 7, 1917
County Seat Lovington
Courthouse
NewMexicoLeaCourthouse.jpg
Address Lea County Courthouse
100 N Main Avenue
PO Box 4C
Lovington, NM 88260
Phone: 505.396.8532
Lea County Website


Nm-lea.png

County Information

Lea County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1917 1920 1918 1917

County Courthouse

Lea County Courthouse
100 N Main Avenue
PO Box 4C;
Lovington, NM 88260
Phone: 505.396.8532 

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1917, and land records.[1]

History

Parent County

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 -  Land that became Lea County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
  • 1917--Lea County was created 7 March 1917 from Chaves and Eddy counties.[1]


Description

Lea County was created in 1917. The county seat is Lovington, New Mexico.Lea County was named for Captain Joseph Calloway Lea. Captain Lea was the first Mayor of Roswell and the father of the New Mexico Military Institute. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [3]

Cities
  • Eunice
  • Hobbs
  • Jal
  • Lovington
Town
  • Tatum
Census-designated place
  • Monument
Unincorporated communities
  • Caprock
  • Crossroads
  • Maljamar
  • McDonald

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Cemetery Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 3,545
1930 6,144 73.3%
1940 21,154 244.3%
1950 30,717 45.2%
1960 53,429 73.9%
1970 49,554 −7.3%
1980 55,993 13.0%
1990 55,765 −0.4%
2000 55,511 −0.5%
2010 64,727 16.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lea County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Nmlea.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Births
Deaths
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Lea County Historical Society
PO Box 1195
Lovington 88260

Hobbs Family History Research Center
3720 N. Grimes
Hobbs, New Mexico, 88240
Telephone: 505-392-6200

Lea County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1044
Lovington, New Mexico, 88260

Southeastern New Mexico Genealogical Society
PO Box 5725
Hobbs, New Mexico, 88240


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lea County, New Mexico page 474, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://lea.genwebsite.net/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lea_County,_New_Mexico#Communities