Leamington Priors St Mary, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Warwickshire
Warwickshire Parishes
Leamington Priors St Mary


Leamington Priors St Mary, Warwickshire
St Mary's Church, Leamington Priors .jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Knightlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Warwick
Registration District Warwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonleigh
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Leamington St. Mary's, is a chapel in the upper part of Leamington, in the union of Warwick, and the Kenilworth division of the hundred of Knightlow, Warwickshire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leamington Priors St Mary, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2]
Leamington Priors St Mary, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1825-1910 1825-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topigraphical Dictionary of England, 1848. Date accessed and adapted: 14 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.