Lee County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lee County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Lee County

Guide to Lee County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Lee County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Lee County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 11, 1826
County Seat Leesburg
Address Lee County Courthouse
PO Box 889
Leesburg, GA 31763-0056
Phone: 912.759.6000
Lee County Website

County Information

Lee County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Lee County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



County Courthouse

Lee County Courthouse
PO Box 889
Leesburg, GA 31763-0056
Phone: 912.759.6000

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce and court records[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 49
100 Leslie Hwy.
Leesburg, GA 31763
Phone: (229) 759-6018
Fax: (229) 438-6049

Probate Court of Lee County
100 Leslie Highway
Leesburg, GA 31763
Phone: (229) 759-6006


Parent County

1825--Lee County was created 11 December 1826 from Creek Indian Lands. County seat:  Leesburg [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1858 The courthouse at Leesburg was destroyed by fire 19 March 1858, along with almost all county records.[3]

1872 Fire burned the courthouse and destroyed some records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crisp County  • Dougherty County  • Sumter County  • Terrell County  • Worth County

Lee CountyWorth CountyTift CountyTurner CountyCrisp CountyDooly CountySumter CountyMarion CountyWebster CountyRandolph CountyTerrell CountyCalhoun CountyEarly CountyBaker CountyMitchell CountyColquitt CountyDougherty CountyGALee.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lee County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Lee County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lee County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

  • White, George. 2001. Lee County, Georgia history & biographies. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press. (page 687-691) 975.8943 D3l
  • Newspaper clippings from the March 30 and April 9, 1961 Albany Herald: of Civil War companies from Dougherty and Baker Counties, Lee County volunteers, and Terrell County war heroes. 1961. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 249516
  • Georgia. Superior Court (Lee County). 1964. Roster of field staff and band, 11th regiment and company B, Georgia volunteers. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 381987
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lee County). 1964. Confederate pension records, 1890-1922. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 381844



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lee County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1867-1885 - Lee County Marriage Index 1867-1885. Batch M713181 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Lee County Genealogical Society
Box 393,
Leesburg, GA 31763

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lee County, Georgia. Page 157 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.