Lee County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lee County, North Carolina)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Lee County

Guide to Lee County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Lee County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Lee County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 6, 1907
County Seat Sanford
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaLeeCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Lee Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Lee County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1913
1908
1910
1908
1906


Lee County Courthouse
1400 S Horner Blvd
Sanford, NC 27330

Mailing Address:
PO Box 4209
Sanford, NC 27331
Telephone: (919) 718-6300

Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 2040
Sanford, NC 27331
Phone: 919-718-4585 x1
Fax: 919-718-4586
Website

Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 4209
Sanford, NC 27331
Phone: (919) 718-6300

History

Parent County

1907--Lee County was created 6 March 1907 from Moore and Chatham Counties.
County seat: Sanford [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nclee.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Lee County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Presbyterian
  • Buffalo, Sanford, N.C. Founded 1797.[2]

Court

The Clerk of Superior Court is elected for four years and must be a resident of the county in which he or she is elected. Unlike clerks of court in other states, the Clerk of Superior Court in North Carolina has numerous judicial functions.

As judge of probate, the Clerk has exclusive original jurisdiction over matters relating to the probate of wills, and the administration of estates, including appointing personal representatives, auditing their accounting, and removing them from office if necessary. The Clerk also presides over many other legal matters including adoptions, incompetency proceedings, condemnation of private lands for public use, and foreclosures. The Clerk is responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the district and superior court. In addition, the Clerk receives and disburses money collected each year from court fees and fines.

Lee County Clerk of Court
Address: 1408 S. Horner Blvd. Sanford, NC 27330- Ph. (918) 774-4821
Records available: Wills and Estates, Court Records

Land

Lee County Register Of Deeds
Lee County Courthouse
1408 S. Horner Blvd
P.O. Box 2040
Sanford, NC 27330
Telephone: (919)718-4585

Has land records starting from 1908

Deed Records available for online research

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

There are Probate records available through theLee County Clerk of the Superior Court which includes wills, estate records and all transactions in reference to settlement of estates.

Taxation

Vital Records

Lee County Register Of Deeds
Lee County Courthouse
1408 S. Horner Blvd
P.O. Box 2040
Sanford, NC 27330
8:00am - 5:00pm Mon - Fri
(919)718-4585

Records available: Birth, delayed Birth, Death, Marriage, Deeds, Military Discharges

Copies of transcribed Vital Records can be found at the following websites:

Birth
Death
Divorce
Marriage

Societies and Libraries

Lee County Genealogical and Historical Society
PO Box 3216
Sanford 27331-3216

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. "Buffalo Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.