Leeds St Peter, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Leeds St Peter)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Leeds St Peter

Guide to Leeds St Peter, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is a Complete List of Leeds' chapels, district churches and chapelries for researchers.

Leeds St Peter, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leeds; Leeds Borough
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Leeds Guardians
Registration District Hunslet; Leeds
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1631
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

Leeds, St Peter is an ancient parish from ancient origins (about the 10th century).

LEEDS (St. Peter), a parish, and liberty, in the W. riding of York, comprising the market-town and borough of Leeds, which has a separate jurisdiction, but is locally in the wapentake of Skyrack; and containing 152,054 inhabitants, of whom 88,741 are in the town, 24 miles (S. W. by W.) from York, and 194 (N. N. W.) from London.

The parish comprises by computation 21,760 acres. Within the limits of the parish are the chapelries [with church registers] of Armley, Beeston, Bramley, Farnley, Chapel-Allerton, Headingley with Burley, Holbeck, Wortley, and Hunslet; also the township of Potter-Newton, and part of the townships of Seacroft and Temple-Newsom.

The Parochial [mother or ancient] church, dedicated to St. Peter, was supposed to have been built on the site of a more ancient structure, in the reign of Edward III., and enlarged in the reigns of Henry VII. and VIII., and was entirely rebuilt by subscription in 1838-40.

A more complete list for all churches and chapels up to about 1900 may be found here:  Complete List of Leeds' chapels, district churches and chapelries.

There are also places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connection, members of the Scottish Church, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Church Records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Leeds St Peter exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
LEEDS ST PETER PARISH (1572) Online Records


Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1572-1910 1572-1910 1572-1935 1572-1935 1572-1854 1572-1854
FS 1572-1837 None 1572-1837 None Add None
JOIN None None 1572-1722 None None None
Leeds All Saints Chapelry (1849) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS





JOIN





Leeds All Souls Chapelry (1876) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS





Leeds Christ Church Chapelry (1827) Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS 1827-1837
None


None

AC





  Leeds Holy Trinity (1730) Online Records
FS 1730-1752 None
None

None
AC






Leeds St Andrew Cavendish Chapelry (1845) Online Records
AC





Leeds St Barnabas, Brewery Field Chapelry (1855) Online Records
AC





FS None
None
None
Leeds St George Mt Pleasant Chapelry (1837) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS





Leeds St Hilda Chapelry (1881) Online Records
AC





Leeds St James - see Horsforth Chapelry 







Leeds St John the Evangelist Parish (1723) Online Records

           Baptisms
         Marriages
              Burials
FS 1723-1845
None
1723-1754



Leeds St John Newtown Chapelry (1867)







Leeds St Luke Chapelry (1841) Online Records

           Baptisms
         Marriages
              Burials
FS 1841-1846 None



Leeds St Mark Woodhouse Chapelry - see Woodhouse below







Leeds St Mary Chapelry (1826) Online Records
FS 1826-1840 None None None None None
Leeds St Matthias Chapelry (1854) Online Records
AC





Leeds St James - see Horsforth Chapelry 







Leeds St Philip Chapelry (1847) Online Records
AC





Leeds St Simon Chapelry (1865) Online Records
FS





Leeds St Saviour Chapelry (1840) Online Records
FS

None




Leeds St Thomas Chapelry (1841) Online Records
FS 1841-1842 None



Armley Chapelry (1664) Online Records

           Baptisms
          Marriages
          Burials
FS
1620-1845
1621-1753

FRG 1813-1829 1813-1829
Beeston Chapelry (1717) Online Records

           Baptisms
         Marriages
              Burials
FS 1717-1837 None 1717-1753



FS
1664-1845

1665-1753



Bramley Chapelry (1717) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1717-1842

1724-1847

None

JOIN None

None

None

FRG 1717;1723-1910

1723-1754;1836-1904


1723-1902

Brewery Field St Barnabas Chapelry (1851)




Chapel Allerton Chapelry (1724) Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS 1724-1837

1725-1753

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC





Farnley Chapelry (1724) Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS 1724-1837



None

JOIN None

None

None

'FRG' 1724-1913

1839-1920

1724-1913

Harehills Chapelry (18..) Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

FRG None

None

None

Holbeck Chapelry (1718) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FRG 1812-1821



1813-1820

FS 1718-1835

1726-1751



Horsforth Chapelry (1620) Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS 1620-1835

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

FRG 1620-1656





Hunslet Chapelry (1686) Online Records

            Baptisms
          Marriages
            Burials
FS 1686-1837 None 1717-1753



Kirkstall Chapelry (1829)

             Baptisms
           Marriages
               Burials
FS 1829-1854
1862-1869
1839-1854
FRG
1829-1895

1836-1898

1829-1877

Seacroft Chapelry (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FRG None

None

None

FS None

None

None

Woodhouse St Mark Chapelry (1825) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1826-1846

1836-1846

None

JOIN None

1825-1837

None

AC None

None

None
Wortley Chapelry (1787) Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS 1813-1837
None
None
None
1879-1890
None
JOIN None

None

None

FRG 1813-1875

1837-1874

1813-1847

New Wortley (1870) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS





Cemetery Records

Here are some cemetery records which have been indexed, and published online:

    •the name of the cemetery or crematorium

    •the persons name, age and date of death

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes. 

  1. FreeBMD.
  2. YorkshireBMD


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464286.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 46-55. [modified] Date accessed: 21 October 2013.