Leintwardine with Adforton, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Leintwardine with Adforton, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Leintwardine with Adforton, Shropshire|
|Poor Law Union||Ludlow|
|Registration District||Ludlow; Knighton|
|Parish registers: 1547|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1638|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
ADFORTON, a township with Stanway, Paytoe, and Grange, in the'paris'h of Leintwardine, Hereford; 2 miles NW of Wigmore.[http://visionofbritain.org.uk/place/4894
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 November 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.