Leksand parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Leksand parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngKopparberg County Gotoarrow.png Leksand parish


Guide to Leksand parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Leksand
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat Leksand -about 1640, Leksand and Djura about 1640-
Län 1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1893 Leksand, Ål and Bjursås, 1894-1915 Leksand, 1916-1947 Leksand and Gagnef, 1948-1970 Nedansiljans domsaga
Domsaga 1687-1875 Östra, later called Österdalarne, 1876-1974 Nedansiljan, 1975- Leksand
Fögderi 1720-1966 Nedansiljan, 1967- Falun
Länsmansdistrikt -1917 Leksand
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Falun
Kommun 1863- Leksand
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Leksands and Rättviks Kompanier, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Dalregementet: Majorens (Leksand) and Rättviks kompanier
FamilySearch I.D. 6372558
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10826


Place Names

Ahlmo; Ahlvik; Almberg; Almbergs Björkan

Backbyn; Backen (Skebergs); Berg; Bergsäng, Norr; Bergsäng, Söder; Björkan, Westra; Björkan, Östra; Björkberg; Boda, Ytter; Boda, Öfver; Bodlindor; Böhle

Carlsarfvet

Djura

Edshult

Fornby; Fors

Grytnäs; Gråda; Gärde

Hagen; Hallen; Hedby; Heden; Hisvåhla; Hjortnäs; Hjulbäck; Hoberg; Hyttqvarn; Hälla; Hästberg

Kihlen; Kullsbjörken

Laknäs; Lima; Lima Bruk; Lindberg, Norr; Lindberg, Söder; Lycka

Mjällgen; Moen

Noret; Norr Bergsäng; Norr Lindberg; Norr Rälta; Näsbyggebyn

Plintsberg

Risholn; Risa; Romma; Rälta, Norr; Rälta, Söder; Rältlindorne; Rönnäs, Västra; Rönnäs, Östra

Sjugare; Skålhol; Slättberg; Smedsarfvet; Styrsjöbo; Sundsnäs; Sunnanäng; Sågen; Sätra; Söder Bergsäng; Söder Lindberg; Söder Rälta

Tasbäck; Tibble; Tomt; Torrberg; Tällberg

Ullvi

Vargnäs; Veberg; Vestannor; Vestanvik; Västra Rönnäs

Westberg; Westra Björkan

Ytterboda; Yttermo; Ytteråkerö

Åijer; Åkerö

Öfverboda; Öfvermo; Östanhol; Östanmor (Skebergs); Östra Björkan; Östra Rönnäs


The above village names are the spellings as they were in 1840. For variations on these spellings, see Leksand parish, Sweden Village Names List.

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Leksand parish, Husförhörslängd 1836-1846, AI;14a,b,c,d Ortregister.

Riksarkivet. "Leksand Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/