Lemington, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lemington, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Lemington, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lemington, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tewkesbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

LEMINGTON, LOWER, a parish, in the union of Shipston-upon-Stour, Upper division of the hundred of Tewkesbury, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 2 miles (N. E. by N.) from Moreton-in-the-Marsh. The railway from Moreton to Stratford passes through it. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lemington, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[5]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1814-1846 (gaps), 1906-1911 1814-1846 (gaps), 1906-1911 1825-1847 (gaps), 1906-1911 1825-1847 (gaps), 1906-1911 1814-1854, 1892-1905 1814-1854, 1892-1905
1576-1696, 1701-1812

FHSO 1800-1833
FREG 1701-1812



To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288778.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 65-68. Date accessed: 19 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.