Letton, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Letton, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Weobley|
|Parish registers: 1673|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660; For more records see Kinnersley|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
LETTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Weobley, partly in the hundred of Stretford, and partly in that of Wolphy, county of Hereford.
Letton, Hereford.—See Walford: WALFORD, with Letton and Newton, a township, in the parish of Leintwardine, union of Knighton, hundred of Wigmore, county of Hereford, 13 miles (N. W. by N.) from Leominster. 
Letton St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in Herefordshire in the Letton civil parish.
The Parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
The church has in recent years needed substantial fundraising for essential repairs to the structure of the building and has been supported by a number of organisations and local fund raising to survive as an Historic preserved church.
It is part of the Weobley and Staunton group of churches.
Village Website for history of the village and of the family history service funded by donations for parish record searches.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
St. Owens Street
Phone 01432 260565
Fax 01432 261720
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
Herefordshire Archives Harold Street Hereford HR1 2QX England Tel: 01432 260750 Fax: 01432 260066 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Website: here
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionLetton
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288819.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 68-74. Accessed and adapted: 8 March, 2013
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 436-439. Accessed and adapted 8 March, 2013