Leverington, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Leverington, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wisbech|
|Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Parson Drove|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
LEVERINGTON (St. Leonard and St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 2 miles (N. W.) from the town of Wisbech, with the chapelry of Parson-Drove.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Leverington, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Leverington, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Parish registers for Leverington, 1558-1876 at FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Leverington, 1600-1857 have been digitised.
- Primitive Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241224.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Leverington on GENUKI