Lewannick, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Lewannick, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Launceston|
|Parish registers: 1660|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
LEWANNICK (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Launceston, N. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 5 miles (S. W. by W.) from Launceston. There are places of worship for Baptists, Bryanites, Independents, and Wesleyans. 
Lewannick, (Cornish: Lannwenek) St Martin, which was anciently called Lawaneck, Lewanecke, and Lawannick, is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of East.
The parish church is dedicated to St Martin and is located at OS grid ref SX2780.
Evidence of early medieval habitation at Lewannick is in the form of two inscribed pillar stones, each having text in both Latin and ogham characters; on the basis of the ogham text, these stones have been dated as having been inscribed between the fifth and sixth centuries. One is located in the village churchyard, and was dedicated to a "Ingenuus"; the other has been moved inside to the church nave, and both texts mention an "Ulcagnus"
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Lewannick, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Lewannick, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P123
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish, includes images of the church.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Lewannick in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-78. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.