Lewes St Anne, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Lewes St Anne , Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lewes St Anne, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Lewes|
|Parish registers: 1579|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
LEWES, a borough and market-town, and the head of a union, in the rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Brighton, 38 (E. by N.) from Chichester, and 50 (S. by E.) from London; The borough anciently comprised ten or eleven parishes, but these have been reduced to four.
The Ancient parish of St Anne resulted from the merger of two parishes and the church of St Mary was rededicated. see church history Lewes St Anne (High Street)
The Church of St Anne has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Bishops transcripts held at West Sussex Record Office 1608-1868
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lewes St Anne
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464164.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 74-78. Date accessed: 30 September 2013