Leweston, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Leweston, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Leweston

Guide to Leweston, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leweston, Dorset
Type Extra-parochial area
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sherborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Sherborne
Registration District Sherborne
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Province Canterbury

Parish History

LEWESTON, an extra-parochial tract in Sherborne district, Dorset; 3¼ miles S of Sherborne. Acres, 540.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 07 July 2103.