Lewis and Clark County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Lewis and Clark County

Guide to Lewis and Clark County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Helena
Organized: February 2, 1865
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Broadwater  • Cascade  • Flathead  • Jefferson  • Meagher  • Powell  • Teton
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaLewisandClarkCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Lewis and Clark County.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Lewis and Clark County was founded in 1865. The County Seat is Helena.[2] The State is located in the central western area. The name was given in honor of explorers Lewis and Clark.[3]

County Courthouse

Lewis and Clark County Courthouse
316 N Park Avenue
Helena, MT 59624
Phone: 406.447.8335
Lewis and Clark County Website

County Clerk has birth records from 1907, divorce records from 1895 and land records from 1865
Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records [4]

Lewis and Clark County, Montana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1895*
1865*
1895*
1867
1867
1867
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Parent County: created 2 February 1865 as an original county
County seat: Helena [5]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lewis and Clark County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 5,040
1880 6,521 29.4%
1890 19,145 193.6%
1900 19,171 0.1%
1910 21,853 14.0%
1920 18,660 −14.6%
1930 18,224 −2.3%
1940 22,131 21.4%
1950 24,540 10.9%
1960 28,006 14.1%
1970 33,281 18.8%
1980 43,039 29.3%
1990 47,495 10.4%
2000 55,716 17.3%
2010 63,395 13.8%
Source: [1]


Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Montana starting in 1870. For links to federal census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Helena

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lewis and Clark County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Lewis and Clark County

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lewis and Clark County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Public Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Lewis and Clark - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Upper Blackfoot Historical Scty
P.O. Box 922
Lincoln 59639-0922

Societies

Lewis and Clark County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 5313
Helena 59604

Lewis & Clark County Genealogical Society Lewis & Clark County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 5313
Helena, MT 5960
The Society's general meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month in the large meeting room in the Lewis & Clark Library, 120 South Last Chance Gulch @ 7:00PM The Library is located on the mezzanine of the Lewis & Clark Library, 120 South Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/lewisandclark/ accessed 11/18/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewis_and_Clark_County,_Montana accessed 11/18/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Lewis and Clark County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lewis_and_Clark_County,_Montana, accessed 7 December 2016.