Lewknor, Oxfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Lewknor, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wycombe|
|Registration District||Thame; Wycombe|
|Parish registers: 1666; Separate registers exist for Ashampstead beginning 1786 and for Cadmore End beginning 1786|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1670; 1721; Separate records exist for Ashampstead beginning 1851 and for Cadmore End beginning 1817|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
LEWKNOR (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Wycombe, partly in the hundred of Desborough,county of Buckingham, but chiefly in that of Lewknor, county of Oxford, 3½ miles (S. S. E.) from Tetsworth. There is a chapel of ease at Ashampstead. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Lewknor, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Lewknor, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Ashampstead chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ashampstead Chapelry Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474574.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 78-85. Date accessed: 09 October 2012.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
- 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.