Leytonstone, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Leytonstone, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Leytonstone, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Leytonstone, Essex
St John Leytonstone Essex.jpg
St John Leytonstone Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Chapel History

Leytonstone, is a village and a chapelry in Leyton parish, Essex. The village runs parallel to Leyton village, and northward of it; lies on the Roman road to Colchester, adjacent to the London and Ongar railway. There is an Independent chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Leytonstone, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Leytonstone, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1833-1954
1848-1957
1834-1879
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241362.


Genealogy

A Second Cousin Twice Removed. A family tree of John Collett Hickey married Mary Ann Hobbins, from 1806-1967, and descendants of Ward, Robinson, Yetton, Henry, Parmetner, Hunter, Buckledee, Kidd, Hackney, listed in the following areas, Shoreditch, Bethnal Green, Walthamstow, Leytonstone, Hackney, Wanstead and Felixstowe. Article in Roots and Branches vol.10.no.3, page 28 FHL Ref. 942.64/F5 D25r

Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Leytonstone on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 28 January 2015.