Libberton. Lanarkshire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Scotland Gotoarrow.png LanarkshireGotoarrow.png Liberton

Libberton (#650)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Libberton.  To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

 

History

LIBBERTON, a parish, in the Upper ward of the county of Lanark; including the village of Quothquan, 2½ miles (S. by E.) from Carnwath. This place, of which the name is of uncertain derivation, is situated on the banks of the river Clyde, and comprehends the ancient parishes of Libberton and Quothquan, the latter having been annexed to the former in 1669. The church, erected in 1812, is a neat edifice adapted for a congregation of 350 persons.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/ . Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Libberton.  Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Libberton.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

 

Years Surname Index             
1841
1851 CD-ROM no. 1850
1861 6205853
1871
1881 6086616( 41 fiche)
1891

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

 

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

Years Covered Family History Library Film Number
Births: 1717-1820 1066598 item 3
1820-1855 1066599 items 1-2
Marriages: 1717-1820 1066598 item 3
1820-1854 1066599 items 1-2
Deaths: 1717-1744 1066599items 1-2
1783-1819 1066598item 3
1818-1854 1066599 items 1-2
Condition of Original Registers

Indexed: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.  Some records may be indexed in theInternational Genalogical Index. 
Births: Interpolated entries not unfrequent after1809, but the record generally was kept with care.
Marriages: Up to January 1758, the names of two witnesses to the marriages are recorded in the entries. Record of proclamation fees 1717–1743 is mixed with entries of Mortcloth Dues, etc.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues, 1717–1744, are intermixed with other matters. There are no entries except five deaths of ministers, 1765–1813, December 1744–October 1783, after which date burials are recorded.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records


The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1639–1678, 1683–1741, 1751–1929
Collections and Accounts 1738–1801, 1808–1913
Testimonials 1690–1700
Communion Rolls 1849–1908
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/383.

Nonconformist Church Records


A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

There are none.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

 

Probate Records

Libberton was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Lanark until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Glasgow.  Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library  catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Lanark.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Lanark. Look in the library  catalog for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 175-197. Adapted. Date accessed: 28 February 2014.

Return to the Lanarkshire parish list.