Liberty County, Montana Genealogy
Guide to Liberty County, Montana ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Liberty County, Montana|
Location in the state of Montana
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 11, 1920|
|Address|| Liberty County Courthouse|
111 1st Street East
Chester, MT 59522
Liberty County Website
- 1 Historical Facts
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Biography
- 2.2 Cemeteries
- 2.3 Church Records
- 2.4 Court Records
- 2.5 Directories
- 2.6 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.7 Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
- 2.8 Gazetteers
- 2.9 Genealogy
- 2.10 History
- 2.11 Land and Property
- 2.12 Maps
- 2.13 Migration
- 2.14 Military
- 2.15 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.16 Newspapers
- 2.17 Obituaries
- 2.18 Probate
- 2.19 Public Records
- 2.20 Repositories
- 2.21 Taxation
- 2.22 Vital Records
- 2.23 Websites
- 3 Places
- 4 References
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 11 February 1920 from Chouteau and Hill
- County seat: Chester 
- Neighboring Counties: Chouteau | Hill | Pondera | Toole
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Montana Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Liberty County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- 1939-1945 Montana, military records, 1939-1945
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Liberty County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Liberty - Probate records.
- Liberty County Clerk County Clerk has birth and death and land records from 1902 Clerk District Court has marriage records from 1920, divorce, probate, div, and court records
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Liberty County Library
110 First East, Chester, MT 59522
Liberty Co Historical Society
Chester, Mt 59522
Broken Mountains Genealogical Society
PO Box 261
Chester, MT 59522
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- 1920-1993 - Marriage records, 1920-1965 ; Index 1920-1993 Viewable
- Broken Mountains Genealogical Society
- Genealogy Inc Lincoln County, Montana
- Kindred Trails Lincoln County, Montana
- Link Pendium Lincoln County, Montana
- USGenWeb Lincoln County, Montana project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.