Libya Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Libya)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Libya

Libya Wiki Topics
Flag of Libya.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Libya Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Libya ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Libya is a country in Africa bordered by Tunisia, Egypt, Sudan, Chad, Niger, and Algeria. It was formerly ruled by the Ottoman Empire and Italy. The official language is Arabic.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Libya Research

Links to articles on getting started with Libya research.

Libya Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Libya research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Libya Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Libya. Since 2007, Libya has been divided into 22 districts (baladiyat):

1. Nuqat al Khams
2. Zawiya
3. Jafara
4. Tripoli
5. Murqub
6. Misrata
7. Sirte
8. Benghazi
9. Marj
10. Jabal al Akhdar
11. Derna
12. Butnan
13. Nalut
14. Jabal al Gharbi
15. Wadi al Shatii
16. Jufra
17. Al Wahat
18. Ghat
19. Wadi al Hayaa
20. Sabha
21. Murzuq
22. Kufra

Libya, administrative divisions.png

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Libya," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Libya, accessed 27 April 2016.