Lincoln Bishop's Palace, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Lincoln Bishop's Palace, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lincoln Bishop's Palace, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lincoln
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

The Bishop's Palace was built by the cathedral builder later canonised bishop Hugh of Lincoln and was the administrative centre of the diocese. Built in the twelfth century when the diocese extended to cover the later lands of the Diocese of Ely and the sees of Oxford and Peterborough.

The diocese had more monasteries than the rest of England prior to their Dissolution and the the lands attached made the administration complex.

Lincoln Bishop's Palace is one of seven Extra-Parochial Places and lies within the boundary of Lincoln the Virgin Mary Cathedral (Ancient Parish). [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

This is one of seven extra parochial places in the city of Lincoln.Link to FamilySearch Catalogue Lincoln Bishop's Palace

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438771.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Lincoln/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 87-95.