Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lincoln County, Maine)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Lincoln County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded June 19, 1760
County Seat Wiscasset
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
High Street PO Box 249;
Wiscasset, ME 04578-0000
Phone: 207.882.6311
Lincoln County Website


County Courthouse

  • 1860 and 1861 - Clerk Courts has marriage, probate and land records from 1860 and court records from 1861.
  • 1760-1764 - Clerk Superior Court has probate records from 1760 to 1764. [1]

History

  • Named for English city, Lincoln in Lincolnshire, England

Parent County

  • 1760 - Created 19 June 1760 from York County. [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities


  Towns

Plantation: Monhegan. For further details see Main Plantations.

Renamed Town: Pownalborough was renamed Wiscassett  in 1802.[10]

Extinct Plantations:  Collamore Ridge Plantation | Hibbert Plantation | Muscongus Isle Plantation (aka Louds Island)

Unorganized territories. For further details see Maine townships

The other island townships (unorganized territories) in Lincoln County which are not shown on the adjacent map are: Bar Island, Haddock Island, Indian Island, Marsh Island, Thief Island, Ross Island, Western Egg Rock, and Hungry Island.[11]

Communities:  Boothbay Harbor | Damariscotta-Newcastle | Waldoboro | Wiscasset

Villages:  Bayville | New Harbor

Neighboring Counties:  Kennebec | Knox | SagadahocWaldo

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps

Melincoln.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Maine Infantry

Online Records

World War I

Naturalization

Newspapers

Maine Newspaper Archive Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.


Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png
Early Maine newspapers routinely reported on news, obituaries, births, marriages etc. from around the state. Be sure to search the indexes for all Maine newspapers to find your target ancestor.


Wiscasset, Lincoln County, newspapers online:

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  3. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  4. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  6. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  7. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  8. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  9. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  10. Maine Historical Records Survey Project, Division of Professional and Service Projects, Work Projects Administration, Counties, Cities, Towns, and Plantations of Maine: a Handbook of Incorporations, Dissolutions, and Boundary Changes (Portland, Maine: The Survey, 1940), 177 (that is 186). A digital version is available via a link in the FamilySearch Catalog.
  11. Unorganized Territories (Lincoln County) in Maine Revenue Services (accessed 25 June 2013).