Lincoln County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lincoln County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Lincoln County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 7, 1860
County Seat North Platte
Courthouse
px
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
301 N. Jeffers Street
North Platte, NE 69101
Phone: 308.534.4350
County Website


Lincoln County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Lincoln County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1862 1870 1868 1868


County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage records. Clerk District Court has divorce records. County Court has probate and court records. Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1860 Lincoln County was created 7 January 1860 from unorganized territory. County seat: North Platte [2]

Description

Lincoln County is located in the western central part of the state. [3] Lincoln County was named after Abraham Lincoln. Founded 1866.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

1923 A fire burned the Lincoln County Courthouse. [5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places/Localities

Populated Places [6]

  • Brady
  • Dickens
  • Hershey
  • Maxwell
  • North Platte
  • Sutherland
  • Wallace
  • Wellfleet

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 17
1880 3,632 21264.7%
1890 10,441 187.5%
1900 11,416 9.3%
1910 15,684 37.4%
1920 23,420 49.3%
1930 25,627 9.4%
1940 25,425 −0.8%
1950 27,380 7.7%
1960 28,491 4.1%
1970 29,538 3.7%
1980 36,455 23.4%
1990 32,508 −10.8%
2000 34,632 6.5%
2010 36,288 4.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Lincoln County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

Court

There is a District Court and a County Court in Lincoln County. District courts primarily hear felony criminal cases, equity cases, and civil cases involving more than $51,000. County courts handle misdemeanor cases; traffic and municipal ordinance violations; preliminary hearings in felony cases; civil cases involving $51,000 and less; small claims cases; some divorce cases; probate, guardianship, conservatorship, and adoption proceedings; and juvenile matters.


  • Lincoln County District Court
    PO Box 1616
    North Platte, Nebraska 69103
  • Lincoln County Court
    PO Box 519
    North Platte, NE 69103

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nelincoln.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Lincoln - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Surname Lists

Surname list of early settlers of North Platte area.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Lincoln County Historical Society
    2403 NORTH BUFFALO
    NORTH PLATTE NE 69101
  • Lincoln-lancaster County Genealogy Society
    P.O. Box 30055
    Lincoln 68503

Libraries

  • Gere Branch Library
    2400 South 56th Street (68506)
    (S. 56th St. & Normal Blvd.) Lincoln
    (402) 441-8560
  • North Platte Public Library
    120 West 4th Street
    North Platte NE 69101
    Phone: 308-535-8036
    Fax: 308-535-8296
    Email: library@ci.north-platte.ne.us
    Director: Cecelia Lawrence

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kimball, Nebraska page 432, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/lincoln/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Lincoln County Courthouse fire, Section 8, Page 2-3.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  7. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  9. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).