Lincoln County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lincoln County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Lincoln County

Guide to Lincoln County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Lincoln County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Lincoln County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1893
County Seat Newport
Courthouse
Address Lincoln County Courthouse
225 W Olive Street
Newport, OR 97365
Phone: 541.265.4131
Lincoln County Website



County Information


Lincoln County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1907 1893 1900 1865 1867

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records 1907-1916,
marriage records from 1905, land records from 1893,
military discharge records from 1945 and voter
registration from 1920.
District Court has divorce, probate and court records. [1]

Lincoln County Courthouse

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Lincoln County, Oregon

20 February 1893: The county was created from Benton and Polk Counties. Named for Abraham Lincoln, 16th president of the United States of America. The irony is that he was offered Governorship of Oregon Territory but he turned it down and it was offered to Joseph Lane instead. [2]

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Lincoln County Court House as of September 2004.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Depoe Bay | Lincoln City | Newport | Siletz | Toledo | Waldport | Yachats

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Agate Beach | Beverly Beach | Chitwood | Eddyville | Fisher | Gleneden Beach | Kernville | Lincoln Beach | Otis | Otter Rock | Rose Lodge | Seal Rock | Tidewater

Indian Reservation

Siletz, located on the Siletz River (Confederated Tribes of Siletz - specifically - the Rogue River tribe, Shasta, Scoton, Shasta Costa (or Shistakwasta), Grave Creek tribe, Chetco, Coquille (or Mishikwutmetunne), Tututni (or Tututunne), Tolowa, and likely a small number of Siuslaw, Coos, Latgawa, Dakubetede, Taltushtuntude, Takelma, and Kuitsh peoples.)

Neighboring Counties

Benton | Lane | Polk | Tillamook

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
ORGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
ORInterment
ORGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orlincoln.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Lincoln County Historical Society
545 Sw 9th St
Newport 97365-4726
Telephone: 541-265-7509

North Lincoln County Historical Museum
4907 SW Hwy 101
Lincoln City, OR 97367
Telephone: 541-996-6614
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Lincoln County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)