Lincolnshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Lincolnshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Lincolnshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Lincolnshire Background
Local Research Resources
United Kingdom
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire England

Guide to Lincolnshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information

Lincolnshire (abbreviated Lincs) is a maritime county located in the East of England.

"LINCOLNSHIRE, or LINCS, a maritime county on the E of England. It is bounded on the N and NE, by the Humber, which separates it from Yorkshire; on the E, by the German ocean; on the SE, for about 3 miles, by Norfolk; on the S, by Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire; on the SW, by Rutlandshire; on the W, by Leicestershire and Notts; and on the NW, by Yorkshire. 

"Lincolnshire contains 620 parishes, part of another parish, and 43 extra-parochial places. It is divided into the Parts of Holland, Kesteven, and Lindsey, each containing several wapentakes... It is divided again, for parliamentary representation, into North and South, the former consisting of the Parts of Lindsey, the latter of the Parts of Kesteven and the Parts of Holland...

"The places of worship within the electoral county, in 1851, were 657 of the Church of England, 38 of Independents, 22 of Particular Baptists, 3 of General Baptists, 31 of New Connexion General Baptists, 6 of undefined Baptists, 9 of Quakers, 1 of Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, 462 of Wesleyan Methodists, 6 of New Connexion Methodists, 221 of Primitive Methodists, 14 of Wesleyan Reformers, 5 of Unitarians, 8 of isolated congregations, 5 of Latter Day Saints, and 13 of Roman Catholics. (John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).  You can read the full account online at Vision of Britain). 

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Lincolnshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Lincolnshire.

Civil Registration Districts

List of Lincolnshire Civil Registration Districts

 Websites