Lindau parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Lindau parish

Guide to Lindau parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Lindau

Berghof
Birch
Bläsihof
Bleike
Bühl
Einfang
Eschikon
Forren

Grafstal
Homberg
Kempttal
Kleinikon
Lettenhof
Lindau
Lindengütli
Schuppis

Schürliacker
Segissen
Siedlung
Spiegelhof
Tagelswangen
Tennenberg
Unter-Kempttal
Winterberg

Surrounding Parishes

Bassersdorf
Brütten
Illnau
Töss
Volketswil
Wangen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Lindau:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 331
1637 1185142 1 475
1640 1185144 2 205
1643 1185146 2 77
1646 1185148 1 373
1663 1185179 2 329
1670 1185154 2 183
1678 1185158 1 281
1682 1185159 2 213
1695 1185167 1 1223
1709 1185169 2 591
1723 1185178 1 181
1751-1752 1185178 1 237

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Lindau families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Lindau belongs to the Illnau-Effretikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Stadtverwaltung Illnau-Effretikon
Zivilstandsamt, 4 OG Stadthaus
Märtplatz 29
CH-8307 Effretikon

Tel: +41 52 354 24 15

email: zivilstandsamt@ilef.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Lindau prior to 1875:

Baltensperger
Baumann
Binder
Bosshard
Brändli
Büchi
Bünzli
Gossweiler
Graf
Irminger
Isler
Keller

Krebser
Krüsi
Kuhn
Kündig
Meili
Morf
Müller
Ochsner
Pfister
Ritter (1779, from Uster)
Rümmeli

Schenkel
Schmid
Temperli
Trüb
Weber
Wegmann
Weiss
Wettstein
Widmer
Winkler
Wintsch

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland