Lintrathen, Angus, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lintrathen, Angus, Scotland)
Jump to: navigation, search

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Angus Gotoarrow.png Lintrathen

Parish #302

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Lintrathen. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

History

LINTRATHEN, a parish, in the county of Forfar, 7 miles (W.) from Kirriemuir; containing the village of Bridgend and the hamlet of Pitmudie. This parish, which derives its name from a Gaelic term signifying "rapid lynn," on account of a waterfall near the church.T he church is a plain structure accommodating 408 persons; it was built in 1802, and repaired in 1829; but is inconveniently situated near the southern boundary of the parish, eight and a half miles from the opposite extremity.[1]


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Lintrathen as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042679
6203961
1851
1042226
none
1861
0103792
none
1871
0103948
none
1881
0203494
6086580 (12 fiche)
1891
0208723
none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1717-1854 0993486 item 1
Marriages: 1717-1854 0993486 item 1
Deaths: 1717-1772 0993486 item 1

1783-1793 0993486 item 1

1830-1854 0993486 item 1

 

Condition of Original Registers—


Indexed: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.  Some records may also be indexed in other FamilySearch collections for Scotland.
Births: Birth records are blank except for thirteen entries, May 1762–July 1773. There is a duplicate or copy of the record from 1773–1819. Mothers' names only recorded in seven entries until January 1773.
Marriages: Marriage records are blank 1718–July 1720, December 1746–November 1773, and January 1793–June 1796.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues 1717–1772 and burials 1783–1793, with one entry for 1801.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

FHL Film Number
Marriage Proclamations 1798–1802 0304665 item 7
Other:
Minutes 1664–1716, 1772–1778, 1794–1812, 1814–1938
Account Book 1813–1842
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/243

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

No known nonconformist groups

Civil Registration

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Lintrathen was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of St.Andrews until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dundee. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Angus and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of At.Andrews.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Angus. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Angus and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 5 June 2014.


Return to Angus Parishes