Liscard St Mary, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Liscard St Mary, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Liscard St Mary

Guide to Liscard St Mary, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

LISCARD, a township, in the parish of Wallasey, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 3 miles (N. by W.) from Birkenhead. There are places of worship for Independents and Primitive Methodists; and a Roman Catholic chapel (St. Alban's), built in 1842.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Liscard St Mary Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Liscard St Mary Parish (1878) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1877-1909
  NONE
1878-1931
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Liscard St Mary was created a parish in 1878 from Wallasey.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Mary's Church, Liscard, 1877-1930 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P226/1/1-5, P226/2/1-4.

Parish Registers: Liscard St Mary Film
Baptisms, 1877-1925. Marriages, 1878-Sep. 1911.
2104768 Items 4 - 10
Marriages, Sep. 1911-1930.
2104769 Items 1 - 2

Liscard was a chapelry in Wallasey parish.

Parish registers of St. Thomas' Church, Liscard, 1900-1946, Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P304/4523/1-5.

Parish registers of St. Thomas' Church, Liscard: Film
Baptisms, 1900-1923. Marriages, 1929-1935. Banns of marriages, 1929-1946.
2262947 Items 7 - 11

St. Columba's Church was a chapel of ease in Egremont, St. John's, Liscard. Liscard was a chapelry in Wallasey parish.

Parish registers of St. Columba, Egremont, 1904-1966 Liscard Cheshire. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P212/1, P212/2/1-4.

Parish registers of St. Columba, Egremont: Film
Baptisms, 1904-1948. Marriages, 1922-1966.
2262947 Items 2 - 6

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Independent - The Independent Church in Liscard later became Liscard Congregational Church and then Liscard United Reformed Church.
  • Catholic

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Register of marriages at Liscard Independant [sic] Chapel, Cheshire. The Independent Church in Liscard later became Liscard Congregational Church and then Liscard United Reformed Church.

Church records Liscard Independent Church Film
Marriages, 1843-1993, with index (2 fiches).
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6393601

The register of deaths and burials at Liscard Independent Chapel, Cheshire, 1845 to 1964. The Independent Church in Liscard later became Liscard Congregational Church and then Liscard United Reformed Church.

Church records Liscard Independent Church Film
Deaths and burials, 1845-1964, with index (1 fiche).
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6393602

Register of baptisms at Liscard Independant [sic] Chapel and Field Road Misson, Cheshire. The Independent Church in Liscard later became Liscard Congregational Church and then Liscard United Reformed Church.

Church records Liscard Independent Church Film
Baptisms, 1845-1996, and index (2 fiches).
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6393600

Church records of St. Alban's Catholic Church, Liscard, 1843-1952 Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 27/5473/1-3.

Church records of St. Alban's Catholic Church, Liscard Film
Baptisms, 1856-1902 (includes index). Marriages, 1848-1952.
2197775 Items 12 - 13
Burials, 1843-1924.
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2197776 Item 1

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-1861)
  • Birkenhead (1861-1912)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral (1836-1861)
  • Birkenhead (1861-1912)

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 98-101. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.



Bibliography