Lithuania Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lithuania)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Lithuania

Lithuania Research Topics
Flag of Lithuania.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Lithuania Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Lithuania ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Lithuania is a country in Northern Europe bordered by Sweden, Denmark, Latvia, Belarus, and Poland. It was formerly united with Poland. The official language is Lithuanian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Lithuania Research

Links to articles on getting started with Lithuania research.

Lithuania Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Lithuania research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Lithuania Map

Lithuania Jurisdictions
Lithuania

Jurisdictions

During the 14th century, Lithuania was the largest country in Europe: present-day Belarus, Ukraine, and parts of Poland and Russia were territories of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. In 1569 Poland and Lithuania formed a new state, the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth. The Commonwealth lasted more than two centuries, until neighboring countries systematically dismantled it from 1772 to 1795, with the Russian Empire annexing most of Lithuania's territory.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Poland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poland, accessed 24 March 2016.