Little Barrington, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Little Barrington, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Barrington, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Slaughter
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Northleach
Registration District Northleach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stow
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BARRINGTON, LITTLE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Northleach, Lower division of the hundred of Slaughter, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 3 miles (W. N. W.) from Burford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Barrington, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
Little Barrington, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1581-1812 1581-1812 1581-1812 1581-1812 1581-1812 1581-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1813-1938 1813-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
FHSO 1800-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288777.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A. ,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 153-158. Date accessed: 19 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016. Described as 'Barrington Parva' and 'Little Barrington.'
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  6. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.