Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Little Bedwyn

Guide to Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinwardstone
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Hungerford
Registration District Hungerford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1722
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marlborough
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1829 - Court of the Peculiar of the Lord Warden of Savernake Forest; Post-1827 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

BEDWIN, LITTLE (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Hungerford, hundred of Kinwardstone, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and S. divisions of Wilts, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Hungerford. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1722-1725, 1813-1857
1722-1726, 1754-1906

IGI 1722-1895

NIM 1591-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464198.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-199. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.